Baseball in Paradise

by monksathletics

Hello everybody, I am approximately one week away from heading  back home and I know it’s going to be bittersweet leaving the island.  I can’t wait to be back and see my friends but obviously it is going to be sad leaving paradise.  I could not have asked for a more memorable 7 weeks.   We have our last game of the regular season today, then we have Friday and Saturday off, then playoffs start Sunday.

My parents arrived a couple of days ago so it’s nice to spend some time with them, and my sister is flying out here tomorrow,  it’s been a while since I’ve seen her so I am excited.   I am hoping to go back to Hanauma Bay with my family and maybe get over to the North Shore on my off days.  On our off days this week 2 of the local players on my team took a few of us to the North Shore.  We went over to Waimea Beach and spent the day there.  We also stopped at Ted’s Bakery, which according to the locals is famous, and I can see why.  On our way to Waimea we drove past Turtle Bay, one of the nicest private resorts imaginable.   The locals told us that this was where they filmed Forgetting Sarah Marshall.  They also knew of a few other smaller beaches that we stopped at.  We were also able to catch a sunset on one of these smaller beaches on the way home.

The next night we climbed up a mountain near Kailua.  At the top were Pill Boxes, which are old Coast guard look outs.   At the top was an unbelievable view of basically the whole island.  Next week will be my last blog! Hopefully I’ll have taken some cool trips with my family and I’ll have some stories for you. 

I’m about to head out to my last regular season game right now against the Oahu Paddlers.  Have a nice day! Thanks for reading.

Joe Coyne